On the Fast(er) Track

Since Scrivener so nicely asked, I’ll post a quickie little telenovela of my dissertation life in the past 3-ish weeks — with more to follow tomorrow.

I’ve been informed by the PTB in my department that I need to finish or else it’s the axe. Gulp.

Ok, I says. I transmit said information to the advisor and repeate my request (the one I’ve given for the past 10 years at least once a semester) for hard and fast deadlines. Along with this request, I turned in my new Introduction (!! horay!)

Miracle of miracles, I’ve received such hard and fast deadlines!

Oh fuck, said I, I guess this means I have to finish. In the next 6 months.

So, that’s it in a nutshell. I’ll wax a bit more descriptive about this nutshell tomorrow when I resume my daily dissertation posts and start the chapter-a-month countdown clock!!

By the way, I’ve missed all my blog friends since I’ve been on teaching hiatus!

SG

6 responses to “On the Fast(er) Track

  1. Sounds like you need to come play InaDWriMo (International Dissertation Writing Month) with us…

  2. You can do it!!!

  3. stewgad, you can do it! look forward to reading your updates!

  4. You really can do it! Go, go, go!

  5. good to hear from you! keep us posted! looking forward to hearing more about your progress. keep it up!

  6. Once a long time ago I waited in line for hours to have Maya Angelou sign a book for me. A young man in line in front of me kept telling Ms. Angelou all of his life dreams. She kept shaking his hand and repeating, “Yes, you can do that.” I wish I could transmit the strength of her voice and grip and eye contact so you could hear her say it emphatically, YES, YOU CAN DO THAT.”

    You ARE doing it!

Leave a Reply

