Eek! Eek! 1 More Week!

That’s really all I’ve got to say.  I’ve got about 20 more minutes to finish my conclusion, which really needs 4 more hours worth of work. 

And then I have to go make it all official and hoof it around campus in sub-zero temperatures filling out forms.  Eeek!  Argh! 

I did have a very nice conversation with my advisor and with the Proxy.  They were both very supportive and reassuring.  The Proxy even said that “a done dissertation is MUCH more important than a perfect or brilliant one!”  That was so great to hear –since the damned thing is far from perfect or brilliant!  My advisor was less explicit, but was caring and supportive, and even got a little angry at one of my other committee members for having neglected me.  He also commented that he was worried at how much weight I had lost and to make sure I was eating.  For some reason, that touched me more than anything.  (I have lost a lot of weight — but you try keeping the lbs on when you’ve struggled to keep anything up or down for the past 4 weeks!) When was the last time any of my committee expressed personal concern for me?  Um, never!  

 Shit! Stewgad! Stop typing and get back to your conclusion!!! 

Eek! Eek!  Only 1 more week!!

11 responses to “Eek! Eek! 1 More Week!

  1. Yet another long-time reader wishing you the best of luck, and hoping that the defense will be a good experience. I hear these things can actually be enjoyable! Congratulations on finishing the dissertation – what a great achievement!

  2. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a puke free 10 days!

  3. Or week, I meant puke-free week. 🙂

  4. Yeah Yeah One more week!

  5. I love your new advisor.
    Go go go!

  6. Also sending lots of love!

  7. Roof is rooting for you. Finally some humane committee members!! Sending buckets of love to surround you.

  8. I’m yet another reader delurking to wish you calm in these last few days and to tell you I’ll be sending happy vibes your way next week! (I’m just beginning Ch. 1 of my own dissertation, and it’s so lovely to hear that it *does* end, eventually.)

  9. Great job! Good luck!

  10. I’ll be sending all my good energies to you!

  11. Yay! I am so excited for you!

Leave a Reply

